Home | News | AMA members receive Australia Day Honours

AMA members receive Australia Day Honours

Former AMA President, Dr Mukesh Haikerwal AO, and current Editor-in-Chief of the Medical Journal of Australia (MJA), Laureate Professor Nick Talley, were among a number of AMA members to receive Australia Day Honours this year.

Haikerwal and Talley both received the highest honour – Companion of the Order (AC) together with Professor Jeffrey Rosenfeld, while AMA Federal Councillor, associate professor Julian Rait received the Medal of the Order (OAM).

AMA President, Dr Michael Gannon, congratulated recipients and thanked them for their contributions to the medical and nursing fields.

“They have dedicated their lives and careers to helping others through their various roles as clinicians, researchers, teachers, authors, administrators or government advisers – and importantly as leaders in their local communities,” Gannon said.

“The great thing about the Honours is that they acknowledge achievement at the international, national and local level, and they recognise excellence across all avenues of human endeavour, and doctors from many diverse backgrounds have been recognised and honoured again this year.

“These are pioneering surgeons and researchers, legends across many specialties, public health advocates, researchers, administrators, teachers, and GPs and family doctors who have devoted their lives to serving their local communities.

“We are, of course, especially proud of AMA members who are among the 75 people honoured in the medicine category today.

“On behalf of the AMA, I pay tribute to all the doctors and other health professionals who were honoured for their passion for their profession and their dedication to their patients and their communities," Gannon said.

Do you have an idea for a story?
Email [email protected]

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the top stories in our weekly newsletter Sign up now

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *