Home | News | New commission, quality standards legislated: Here’s what they cover
Photo: Mick Tsikas. Source: AAP

New commission, quality standards legislated: Here’s what they cover

The aged care sector has again welcomed legislated quality standards that will take effect mid next year, following a function held in Parliament House to thank those involved in their development.

The Aged Care Quality Standards will replace the existing four sets of standards and cover all aged care services including residential care, home care, flexible care, and services delivered under the Commonwealth Home Support Program.

Leading Age Services Australia (LASA) said aged care providers have been working for several months to successfully transition to the new single set of standards.

Chief executive Sean Rooney said members have also been encouraged to use the peak’s guidance materials as a measuring stick to self-assess their own performance against the organisational requirements.

Minister for Senior Australians and Aged Care Ken Wyatt said the boards and governing bodies of aged care providers will be “clearly accountable for every one of their consumers’ safety and quality of care”.

“Providers delivering clinical care will be mandated to maintain quality clinical frameworks including infection control, open disclosure to consumers, their families and representatives, and minimising the use of restraint,” Wyatt said.

Aged & Community Services Australia chief executive Pat Sparrow said all residents and providers alike need the aged care system to function with “firm but fair regulation”.

“It is vital the community has confidence that the regulation protecting their loved ones enshrines safety and quality of life and also functions effectively, and quickly, to identify and respond to any instances of sub-standard care,” Sparrow said.

Wyatt said the new Aged Care Quality Standards cover:

  • Consumer dignity and choice
  • Ongoing assessment and planning with consumers
  • Personal care and clinical care
  • Services and supports for daily living
  • Organisation’s service environment
  • Feedback and complaints
  • Human resources
  • Organisational governance.

Adherence to each standard will require a statement of outcome for the consumer, a statement of expectation for the organisation and requirements to demonstrate the standard has been met.

The standards will be enforced by the new Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission, for which legislation passed this week to see it come into force on 1 January 2019.

Providers will be held to the new standards from 1 July next year.

Do you have an idea for a story?
Email [email protected]

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the top stories in our weekly newsletter Sign up now