Home | News | Award-winning nurses

Award-winning nurses

Six primary health care nurses received national awards for their contributions to general practice.

The winners of the 2013 Best Practice Awards, Shani Hill, Lois Mitchell, Tahlia Kinnane, Carolyn Ronan, David Youds and Susan Nunn, were announced at a gala awards ceremony hosted at the Australian Practice Nurses Association (APNA) National Conference in Melbourne.

The awards were given for best practice in the areas of chronic disease management, continence care, immunisation and sexual health.

Nurses who have demonstrated innovation or quality improvement in their practice were also awarded.

APNA president Julianne Badenoch said the annual awards, now in their seventh year, celebrate individuals and practices making remarkable improvements in primary health care, including general practice.

Badenoch said, “Each year we see further progression and development in the important role nurses play within primary health care.

“These awards acknowledge nurses who are stepping up to new opportunities and challenges and who are truly moving our profession forward.”

Each winner received $5000 to use towards continuing their professional development. Most plan to use their prizes to attend conferences and courses, or to enable them to experience primary health care in a different setting.

Susan Nunn of Tasmania, winner of AGPAL Best Practice Award in Nursing for Quality Improvement, said “It is good to share innovative ideas with others, be recognised for the difference you make and be able to progress yourself further professionally.”

Do you have an idea for a story?
Email [email protected]

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the top stories in our weekly newsletter Sign up now

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *