Home | News | Support given to advance the profession

Support given to advance the profession

The Nurses Memorial Centre, Melbourne, announces its 2011 scholarship recipients.

The Nurses Memorial Centre, Melbourne, has continued with its drive to advance the profession with the announcement of its 2011 scholarship recipients.

Provided annually to nurses and midwives who possess a strong motivation and drive to undertake postgraduate studies, the scholarships this year included the new national Babe Norman $30,000 Doctoral Scholarship, given by the centre in conjunction with the Rosemary Norman Foundation.

It was awarded to Gail Ross Adjie, coordinator of nursing clinical practice, policy and research, St John of God Hospital, Murdoch, WA who is investigating the effect of an evidence based bowel protocol on time taken to return to normal bowel function in post-operative joint replacement patients, as part of her PhD studies at Notre Dame University.

Brett Mitchell, assistant director of nursing – infection control, Tasmanian Infection Prevention and Control Unit (TIPCU) Department of Health and Human Service, who is investigating the impact of Clostridium difficile infection (CDI) on mortality and length of stay, as part of his Doctorate of Nursing Science studies, at James Cook University.

Victorian recipients for the Australian Legion of Ex-Servicemen and Women scholarship for study in the areas of Palliative Care and Aged Care are:
* Dr Allison Williams
* Melissa Bloomer
* Cathy Daniel

Three Victorian nurses are the recipients of Scholarships provided by the Nurses Memorial Centre:
* Lauren Slayford, including the Vivian Bullwinkel Award
* Debra White, including the Betty Jeffrey Award
* Wei Liu.

Applications for scholarships for study in 2012 will open in mid 2011. Go to www.nursesmemorialcentre.org.au 

Do you have an idea for a story?
Email [email protected]

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the top stories in our weekly newsletter Sign up now

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *